Pilgrim Discovery: Storyline Online

Please stop everything you’re doing and go over to Storyline Online. It came up in one of my feeds today and after reading a few of the raves, I had to go over and check it out for myself.

Utterly delightful.

The concept is similar to Tumblebooks (another website which I raved about in an earlier post) – children’s books read aloud online. But in the case of Storyline Online, the reading is done by established screen actors like Sean Astin and Elijah Wood (from the “Lord of the Rings” movies), Bradley Whitford (“The West Wing”), Jane Kaczmarek (“Malcolm in the Middle”), and even Al Gore.

Nothing like being read to, and I was completely captivated.

The stories comes with suggested activities and a downloadable activity guide, and some also have reader’s theatre versions.

Please check it out. It’s just wonderful.

6 responses to “Pilgrim Discovery: Storyline Online

  1. I checked it out and yes it is utterly delightful indeed! I loved the story of Sophie’s Masterpiece and I can’t wait to share the site with my kids. Thanks!

  2. Glad you found it so! Another mom I know also thought it was great. In fact, I think you don’t even have to be a mom to enjoy this site 🙂

    Here are quick reviews of the ones I’ve listened to so far:

    Wilfred Gordon McDonald Partridge – a poignant story about a boy who helps an old person to reconnect with her memories.

    Thank You Mr Falker – the story brought tears to my eyes. You’ll especially enjoy it if you have or know a child with learning difficulties.

    A Bad Case of Stripes – a funny tale of a child whose desire to conform has unfortunate consequences.

    Brave Irene – a child battles the elements to do what she set out to do. Read by Al Gore, whose Southern lilt is so very charming 🙂

    Pigasso Met Mootisse; Romeow and Drooliet – Cheeky reinterpretations of classic stories.

    White Socks Only – one of my very favourites, about the experience of a little black girl who ventures into town. Though I wish it had been read by someone with a little more gravitas.

    Enemy Pie – a wise father teaches his son how to deal with a sworn enemy.

    I should also say that the site may work better with older kids. Athos (7 yrs old) liked them but Porthos (5 1/2 yrs old) got bored after a while.

  3. Thanks for the link! I love
    “Wilfred Gordon McDonbald Partridge” – can’t wait for a) Zorgy to be born, b) Zorgy to be able to understand words, c) to listen to this together with him! Hehe… have bookmarked the site for future use 🙂

  4. i read this blog at 1am in the morning, and despite how tired I was, went to the site, and was entranced by Stellaluna. The next day, I let En & Min watch a few, and though most of them are a little too long and difficult for them, they particularly enjoyed Guji Guji, which is great for their age, and Sebastian’s roller skates. Sophie’s masterpiece was rather pleasing too. thanks for this! I’ve now gone and registered on NLB’s tumblebooks and will let the girls try that out sometime!

  5. Pingback: Great Sites For Kids « Mommy-fied

Leave a Reply

