National Taps

As part of work this week, I had the very great pleasure of visiting the NEWater Visitor Centre. I hadn’t realised that the facility was open to the general public, and that it has even won tourism awards! The place is open from 9am to 5:30pm daily except Mondays, and admission is free. The tour was truly enlightening, suitable even for very young children (I’d say at least 4-5 years old) and I highly recommend it.

I was telling Athos and Porthos about the visit at bedtime tonight. I explained to them that NEWater was part of Singapore ‘s strategy of Four National Taps to ensure enough water for Singapore well into the future – the other three being imported water, rainwater and desalinated water.

Here’s what they had to say:

Porthos: If there are four National Taps, does that mean there are also four National Pipes?

Pilgrim Mom: Well, yes, I guess so!

Athos: And doesn’t that mean there are also four National Toilets?

PM: [laughs uncontrollably]

Athos: … and four National Poo-Poos and Wee-Wees too!

I wonder what the good people at our Public Utilities Board think about that!

Leave a Reply

