Of Garage Sales And Wondrous Treasures

garage-sale.jpg

Our 6th multi-family charity garage sale flew by on the blessed wings of gorgeous weather, generous donors, faithful helpers and bargain hunters. We had items of every category from 27 (!!) families, and a steady stream of customers, especially on the first day. And I am delighted to share that we raised almost $2,500 for missions work in the Philippines!

One of the things I love about garage sales is the serendipitous discovery. For me, this mostly happens in the books section. And this garage sale did not disappoint. Someone dropped off a copy of Jonathan Safran Foer’s first novel Everything Is Illuminated. I had read and thoroughly enjoyed his second novel Extremely Loud And Incredibly Close (reviewed here) so had every reason to buy this one. I finished reading it last night, and am still chewing the literary cud, so perhaps a review later on.

Another discovery: A Treasury Of Children’s Classics. Now I had told myself to avert my eyes from the kids books because Athos is a bookworm and our shelves are overflowing at the seams. But when the book remained unsold on the second day, I knew it was calling out to me. It’s a hardcover volume comprising many child-oriented or child-friendly classic poems like Daffodils, Where the Bee Sucks, Ozymandias, The Tyger, Casabianca, The Rime of the Ancient Mariner and of course The Charge Of the Light Brigade. (Sorry for not providing links, but I’ll try to put them up sometime soon. If you’re interested in the text of these classic poems, a Google Search should do the trick. And if you’d like the see more poetry suitable for kids, try this)

I’m not sure that Athos and Porthos are ready to appreciate these poems but I certainly did! 🙂

And serendipity within serendipity: here is one by Christina Rossetti that I discovered within the pages

Who Has Seen The Wind?

Who has seen the wind?
Neither I nor you:
But when the leaves hang trembling,
The wind is passing through.

Who has seen the wind?
Neither you nor I:
But when the trees bow down their heads,
The wind is passing by.

A reminder to kids (and adults too!) that not everything that is real needs to be seen with your own eyes.

3 responses to “Of Garage Sales And Wondrous Treasures

  1. Hi PP–it sounds like you all did some very good work and were rewarded with some fine weather (smile).

  2. Pingback: Too. Much. Stuff. « Pilgrim Parent

  3. Thanks for the great information. Just recently i found a 35 year old maple table at a yard sale for only $11! What a steal huh?Here is a great website i found on redoing cabinets

Leave a Reply

