Graffiti With Homemade Fingerpaints

I know the boys like fingerpainting. But then I start thinking about the sticky fingers, the soiled clothing, the mess, and very quickly my mind starts casting about for alternatives.

That is, until I hit upon a nifty solution. First we made our own fingerpaints using this recipe:

  • Β½ cup liquid hand soap
  • 1 teaspoon cornstarch
  • Food coloring

Combine the soap and cornstarch, divide into batches, then add food colouring. The resulting fingerpaint will be fairly translucent.

Then I got the kids naked and set them to decorate the shower area of the bathroom. They were at it for almost an hour! As predicted it was a mess. But there were no clothes or furniture to stain. And everything washed off beautifully! (Well, the boys had patches of colour on them for a day, but I can live with that….)

Here is Porthos getting into it:

2006-08-fingerpainting01.jpg

And here are Athos and Porthos showing off their work-in-progress:

2006-08-fingerpainting04.jpg

5 responses to “Graffiti With Homemade Fingerpaints

  1. Wow, Pilgrim Parent, this is a great tip! Thanks for sharing it! πŸ™‚ I will try it but first, I still need some colour dye! Again, I might try squid ink if I get my hands on any! πŸ™‚

  2. Alternative Mom, sorry I keep coming back to food colouring πŸ™‚ It’s just that once you have a few bottles, a whole world of activity opens up….

  3. You SWEAR it comes off easily?!

  4. Does the food colouring not stain the skin? I know when i’ve spilt it on my fingers – not a pretty sight..

  5. One more question, I think it comes off the tiles easily but what about those white lines in between the tiles? Mine is a rented home and I’m not sure how to deal with it if I get colours in between! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

