Appreciating Nature With Masking Tape

I took Aramis out for a walk a few nights ago and we tried out this nifty activity I once saw in a book.

It’s meant for older kids but one-year-old Aramis seemed quite interested. All you need is a piece of masking tape, which you attach around your wrist sticky-side out. You can also attach it to a stroller, belt, or anything that is convenient.

When you find something interesting, stick it onto the tape, and at the end of the walk, you’ll have a nice little collection which you can put up somewhere as a reminder of what you saw.

I try to take Aramis for walks a few times a week. But knowing I had this little piece of tape waiting to be filled up made me more observant than usual. And I came away with the fresh realisation that despite how built-up Singapore’s environment is, there’s still lots of nature strewn everywhere if we bother to look – weeds, fallen leaves and flowers, twigs, bits of bark.

Here’s what we ended with:

nature01.jpg

nature02.jpg

4 responses to “Appreciating Nature With Masking Tape

  1. This is a nice idea! I did it once with my daughter, on a piece of paper and it was called, Nature’s Rainbow. I do like the masking tape as it leaves the hands free to pick up bits and pieces and accessorize the hand, too! Thanks for the idea and you are definitely right about finding bits and pieces everywhere in Singapore! I totally agree!

  2. Thanks for the comment! Yes I thought the idea was so simple yet so effective. I was reminded how pretty weeds can be – whose idea was it to call them weeds anyway?!

    There are some wonderful words that Jesus spoke – “Consider the lilies of the field, how they grow: they neither toil nor spin; and yet I say to you that even Solomon in all his glory was not arrayed like one of these.” How true!

  3. I adore this idea! So crafty and fun!

    My name is Brenda and I’m just a passer-by, hope u don’t mind 🙂

  4. Brenda, of course I don’t mind! Thanks for dropping by and I thought your blog was just fabulous.

Leave a Reply

