Why I Am Weaning

Last week, Grandma gave Aramis aka Suckzilla his first ever bottle of formula, and so began the process of weaning.

Why?

I hadn’t really been thinking about weaning, except that 11-month-old Suckzilla, who usually nurses like so:

2007-04-bfeeding101.jpg

…last week decided to adopt this position:

2007-04-bfeeding103.jpg 2007-04-bfeeding102.jpg

And not just that, sometimes he squirms, rocks back and forth, bites, plays peek-a-boo with my shirt… you get the picture.

13 responses to “Why I Am Weaning

  1. haha…yah, (not-so-anymore) baby is doing that. He’s 15 months – I still haven’t weaned him yet.

  2. Eek. DS who is five months old right now has been teething for a month. I did plan to self-wean, but every once in a while now (once a day, that’s 1 out of 6-8 nursing sessions) he would take a nip. 😐

    We co-sleep, and he kicks as he falls asleep. I feel your pain.

  3. this week, Min decided that biting is fun, and I now bear battle scars. ouch! I too, feel your pain.

  4. Thanks for all the comments which are very reassuring! Part of me wishes someone had told me that motherhood involves getting your boobs bitten. On the other hand, I might not have had any kids at all 🙂

  5. hi, i’m a SAHM who came across your blog. Yup, I recently weaned by 7.5 mth-old cos of her excessive ‘struggliness’ and biting while nursing as well 🙂
    btw, I’ve put your link on my blog, hope ur ok with that!

  6. Hi Pilgrim Mum,

    Thanks for introducing me to your blog. Well, just to share my personal experience and an “old wives advise” to how to stop your toddler from biting. It really works!

    I am still partially nursing my 2 1/2 year old. When he was 18 months he bit me and when he knew it hurt, he went on a “milk strike” he refused to drink for 3 whole days. I was left with breasts painful & swelling with milk. Then a friend told me her granny told her in olden times, when the baby bites, she’ll give the baby a tight hug and he’ll let go. I tried this trick myself. And well, here I am with my toddler 2 1/2 and still nursing him at night.

    I only nurse him at night now, cause I am 32 weeks pregnant now and initially my gynae told me to totally stop nursing my toddler. I felt sorry for my toddler and so now he only nurse before his nap and night sleep.

    I hope you’ve not stop nursing and my sharing helps.

    Take care!

    P.S. My toddler also takes those positions thats in your pictures too. Sometimes it’s ok to tell he it hurts, they sometimes do understand. :p

  7. KATBSC, I’m thoroughly impressed that you are still nursing and hope lots of women follow your good example. I haven’t stopped yet, but with 2 other boys clamouring for attention, well let’s just say it will be an act of God if I keep going for much longer!

    Thanks for visiting and drop by again.

  8. This is so familiar!!! It’s amazing to see what kind of position they can get into while nursing. 🙂
    I nursed my darling till she was 2+. Managed to wean her off recently because my supply is diminishing and that doctor commented that she is ‘a little underweight’.
    Jia you!

  9. Wow, 2+ – kudos to you! I’m down to night-time feeds and one at most two daytime feed. Am planning to cut to just night feeds soon (which is really comfort suckling mostly). I’m glad that I’ve stopped expressing at work, but to be honest, a part of me still enjoys the bonding I have with Aramis when he breastfeeds. Thanks for dropping by!

  10. Pingback: Coffee Connection « Pilgrim Parent

  11. Those photos look funny and familiar. hahaha… My son is 12 months plus and I am still breastfeeding. Only nite feeds now. I also suffered from sore nipples from the bites. He will cry when I scream.

  12. very interesting, but I don’t agree with you
    Idetrorce

  13. Hey Idetrorce, thanks for dropping by and leaving a comment. It’s ok not to agree with me. I know breastfeeding and weaning can be a hot potato for some.

    As it turns out, since I wrote this post, it took him a further 7 months to stop nursing!

Leave a Reply

