8 Years of Us

A few nights ago, we left the kids with Grandpa and Grandma, and Pilgrim Dad and I took off for a nice long dinner date to celebrate our EIGHTH wedding anniversary.

In an age where marriages and families are being assailed on all fronts, we are thankful to God for bringing us together, keeping us together, and moving us together.

This is my wedding ring, sitting on my left hand where it has been for the past 8 years.

ring.jpg

I remember the first week it was there. It was an awkward uncomfortable feeling, having this hard metal object permanently on my hand where previously there was nothing. Though it was light, its unfamiliarity made it heavy.

But I decided to keep it there. I’d made a promise before God, this ring was the symbol of that promise, so I would just keep wearing it.

It struck me as a metaphor for what makes a marriage work. Some days the feelings are enough to carry you through. But there will be other times when feelings come up short, when the marriage enters a zone that is unfamiliar, awkward and uncomfortable – when you begin life as a married couple, when the children come, when you change jobs, or homes, or living situations, or all at once (which, speaking from personal experience, is highly unwise!)

That’s when love becomes a decision, an everyday choice to keep a promise, to keep on keeping on no matter the circumstance.

And so even though my ring is a little out of shape and has lost some of its shine, I wear it because it is a reminder to me of the vows we took:

to have and to hold
from this day forward;
for better, for worse,
for richer, for poorer,
in sickness and in health,
to love and to cherish,
till death us do part.

4 responses to “8 Years of Us

  1. Congrats you two, and many more to come! I still remember your wedding, and what a good time we all had, sharing in your special day, watching you walk down Hyatt to “Tian Mi Mi”, that was fun!

  2. Wow! It’s already 8 years. Congratulations and Happy Anniversary! Love you lots.

  3. Happy anniversary! Remember the great fun we all had like it was yesterday.

  4. I always remember that part of your wedding day – his guy friends sang “stand by your man” …for his decision to buy a jeep.

Leave a Reply

