Homemade Volcano – The Real Thing

Anyone who’s been following this blog will know that the Pilgrims have an inexplicable attachment to the homemade volcano. We’ve done the regular, the upsize and the mini-explosive.

I finally caved to the pressure (both the kids and my own insatiable curiosity) and got the ingredients for the Real Thing – a 2-litre bottle of Diet Coke and 4 Mentos. Here’s what happened:

As you can see, the kids were FAR more impressed with this one. Now that that’s out of the way I can get on with my life again….

2 responses to “Homemade Volcano – The Real Thing

  1. My middle son has decided that he wants to try some “Homemade” science. I’m all for knowledge so I said sure….What do you want to try first? He said he wanted to make a volcano. So we got online to research the best way to make one and came across your site and the Diet Coke and Mentos experiment. Newedless to say the reaction was one of awe and wonder…followed by a “IM DOING THAT!!!” sigh……I am now researching a good cupon site for 2 liters of Diet Coke Products and Mentos. He also has many rather spectacular ideas for combinding the traditional Volcano experiment with the Coke & Mentos one. I will of course be Capitol Investor/Camera man/Clean-up crew, per his little majesties (Speilberg wannabe)instructions. As I am a breeder of Shih Tzu’ dogs, he thinks a kind of “Planet of the Apes” production will be hilarious….sigh….I can’t hardly wait…..
    I will be sure to pass along the video & information about the experiment if we survive.

  2. Dear Padgett-Swigers, all the best in your exciting scientific adventure! The role of capital investment, documentation and ancillary repair and maintenance is one of the less-talked-about of parents, so cheers to you for taking them all on at one go! I can’t wait to hear how it all went. 🙂

Leave a Reply

