Kids Say The Darnedest Things…

I was thinking today about some of the things that Athos has said (or came near to saying) that very nearly gave me a heart attack:

  • Getting in the lift with a very large Caucasian gentleman, Athos asks, “Mummy, why is this man so fat?”
  • Pilgrim Dad is talking to his Indian friend. Athos strides in, looks at the friend and wonders out loud, “Why is he so black?”
  • At a mall, we are served by a sales staff with a severe case of acne. Athos’ eyes widen, he points, and is just about to say something when I catch his eye and give him a stern look. He gets the message and comes close to me and whispers, “That boy has measles!”

Three episodes, one dilemma. Part of me needs to teach him to communicate according to social norms. But another part of me just wants to hug him and savour every moment of that sweet childlike innocence, when political correctness is alien, and a question is simply a question.

2 responses to “Kids Say The Darnedest Things…

  1. Freezing in Canada

    haha. Reminds me of when Megan was standing on the sofa behind her kong kong Perry, and said to my horror – “Kong Kong, you have no hair up here!” sigh, the girl is not lying. just stating a fact…

  2. Haha! I’m sure her Kong Kong was charmed. It reminds me of the other night, when Athos asked his Kong Kong, “You already said that just now. Why are you saying it again?” He wasn’t being cheeky, just genuinely wanted to understand Kong Kong’s repetitiveness 🙂

Leave a Reply

