Trans Fat and Peanut Butter

Peanut butter is a staple in the Pilgrim family. Athos and Porthos have it for breakfast several times a week, sometimes for supper as well. Some months back, I read that many brands of peanut butter contain trans fat. So I switched from our usual brand to Peter Pan, whose label read “0 trans fat”.

But while doing the groceries at NTUC Fairprice today, I decided to read the ingredients more carefully. To my surprise, I found “partially hydrogenated vegetable oils” listed. I always thought that was the same thing as trans fat.

I’ve been wondering about how trustworthy food labels are. Anyhow, I decided that today I would stop wondering and start acting. So I’ve just emailed ConAgra Foods (which owns the Peter Pan brand).  Here is what I wrote:

“I recently switched from a rival brand of peanut butter to Peter Pan because the nutrition label says “0 trans fat”. However, I just noticed that ‘partially hydrogenated vegetable oils’ is listed in the ingredients. Isn’t that the same as trans fat? I’d appreciate a clarification.”

I’ll post the reply when I get one.

2 responses to “Trans Fat and Peanut Butter

  1. A study was done to determine amounts of trans fat in peanut butter like Peter Pan…the result was that there are less than .5 grams in the entire, 510 gram jar!

  2. Hey all, My name is Lindsay and I gotta tell you I switch from regular peanut butter to natural peanut butter for the health benefits but I just could not stand the lack of taste and having to stir it every time. I then did some research and found Skippy Natural peanut butter is good for you, does not need to be stirred and tastes great!!

Leave a Reply

