The Velveteen Rabbit – Passed Down To the Next Generation

Now that Athos prefers to read by himself than to be read to, the only way I know how much he likes a book is if I see him read it more than once, and especially if he uses it for loo reading. 🙂

Imagine my delight to discover him doing both with one of my favourite children’s books, The Velveteen Rabbit!

I still remember the first time I ever heard the story. It was on a long plane ride many years ago. I was idly listening to the in-flight entertainment system when an audio recording of the story came on. The narrator was the incomparable Meryl Streep, accompanied by a gentle, lyrical George Winston on keyboard. I was riveted. Margery Williams tells a magical tale of a stuffed rabbit, beloved by his owner, and what happens to him when he is Really Loved.

After that I simply had to buy the book. I’ve possessed various versions at various times, and my current edition is a hardcover illustrated book I got in 1997, on sale somewhere (I think) in the US. Sometime after the kids came, I put the book together with their books, hoping one day to read it to them. And lo and behold, Athos has read it by himself, not once but three times!

I’m so thrilled he likes it — it’s such a beautiful classic and I think the world might just be a better place if everyone read that story!

Leave a Reply

