Solids and the Passing Phase of Mammaries

Aramis has just turned 6 months! We started him on solids about a month ago – in part out of desperation because my milk supply wasn’t keeping up with his insatiable appetite. His first morsel of food was mashed banana. Just a wee teaspoon which seemed to amuse him though he couldn’t quite swallow it.

Since then, he’s had apple, papaya and brown rice, and he seems to be taking it all in his stride. He now takes solids twice a day. I know it’s a matter of time before he, like his brothers, will no longer need me to supply his meals.

Part of me looks forward to stopping breastfeeding. But another part of me whispers that this is a role I’m unlikely to reprise. I think of those times when he’s suckling and gazing at me intently as I talk or sing to him, and I know that those are moments I wouldn’t give up for the world.

Leave a Reply

